I beta pass my neighbour!

20121113-194254.jpgl

I beta pass my neighbour! That’s the phrase that springs into my mind when I think about the new race to the skies… as Nigerians in the upper echelon (no pun intended)literally move to occupy the upper regions with their private jets.

It’s the phrase that comes to my mind because I see some kinship between the block of flat of ‘middle classers’ who would rather endure the noise and fume of 12 Chinese generators than cooperate to explore a more efficient power back-up system for their Multi-tenant flat, and our ‘big men’ who would rather pay the steep cost of owning/maintaining a private jet than explore pooling resources to grow a world class airline that will meet their ‘demanding’ travel needs. It’s the same “I beta pass my neighbour spirit”

There is such a dearth of the spirit of cooperation among us that we are unable to forge the unity of purpose that will help us shape our society into one in which private jets and private generating sets would be superfluous.

So I say let’s prepare… I foresee that we are near the tipping point of this new level of I beta pass my neighbour.

Who knows? Some Of my smart friends from the east may soon see the opportunity in turning Ladipo Auto spare parts markets into an Aero spare parts market. Some road side mechanics may want to upgrade their skills to road side aeronautical engineers since it is reasonable to expect that some of our ‘big men’ would hit hard times in due course and would have to resort to their services. And of course we would expect that Abuja streets would soon be teeming with black marketeers selling aviation fuel in gallons.

How wonderful, how beautiful, when brothers and sisters get along! It’s like costly anointing oil flowing down head and beard, Flowing down Aaron’s beard, flowing down the collar of his priestly robes. It’s like the dew on Mount Hermon flowing down the slopes of Zion. Yes, that’s where God commands the blessing, ordains eternal life. (Psalm 133:1-3 MSG)

2 thoughts on “I beta pass my neighbour!

  1. Another nice one “for us all” to ponder on in the competitive pursuit of “I beta pass my neighbour”. Of couse, where is contentment?

    Like

  2. The big trap we often fall into is to measure our success by what we own and derive our self worth from our possessions. Jesus said that our net worth is not denominated in currency.

    Like

Leave a Reply

