Holy Bible: King JaMEs Version

20130125-234500.jpg

Jesus said, “If I want him to live until I come again, what’s that to you? You—follow me.” That is how the rumor got out among the brothers that this disciple wouldn’t die. But that is not what Jesus said. He simply said, “If I want him to live until I come again, what’s that to you?” (John 21:22, 23 MSG)

It is quite easy to get into the very dangerous practice of hearing from God not what he is saying but what we are saying.

This practice is the root of many personal sins in our individual lives as well as the many doctrinal differences that cause strife and separation of Christ into denominations that are more the body of founders than they are the body of Christ. In Apostle Paul’s time, some said I am of Paul, others said they were of Apollos; to whom do you lay your own allegiance today?

Think about what transpired in John 21 for a moment: six of the disciples had heard Jesus say that if he wanted John to live till his return, it was none of Peter’s business but somehow, out of these group of six disciples (which didn’t include Judas by the way), someone had started a rumor that Jesus said John would not die.

In my personal life, I have sometimes been amazed how I’ve tried to find a new interpretation for a scripture just because my old understanding of it was now in conflict with a course of action I was trying to pursue: essentially trying to create a ‘me’ version to suit my immediate desires. But I continue to lean on God’s grace to hold on to the truth even when it is inconvenient.

What about you? would you rather let God be true and every man a liar or would you change the truth of God into a lie? Are you going to keep twisting God’s word to say what you want to hear? Are you writing your own version of his word?

Leave a Reply

