A Crisis of Faith Without Character

20130523-211918.jpg

…giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue,… (II Peter 1:5 NKJV)

It is common these days to hear people from all walks of life lament the direct correlation of the geometric increase in the number of ‘christian organizations’ and the rapid descent of our society into a moral cesspool. It does appear that the more overtly ‘Christian’ our society seems to become, the deeper we sink into the morass of a life without scruples. The sad evidence that stares us in the face is that as our ‘worship’ becomes more boisterous our lifestyle similarly grows more unscrupulous.

Apparently, Apostle Peter understood this malady of a faith that is built on an unregenerate heart. So he admonishes us, “add to your faith virtue”.

One tragedy of our Christian walk is that we view faith not as a template for living but as a magic wand that we wave at God to make him pull rabbits out of his mighty hat at our pleasure. We have reduced faith to nothing more than a mechanism for realizing our every fantasy. We have so mastered its use that we have amassed for ourselves a trove of treasure that if heaven were not infinitely endowed, some of its residents might have cast an envious eye upon us.

In our minds we have arrived, but unfortunately, we have anchored on the wrong shore. Here’s how the bible describes our condition.

“Write this letter to the angel of the church in Laodicea. This is the message from the one who is the Amen—the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s new creation: “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth! You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. (Revelation 3:14-17 NLT)

Neither hot nor cold – indistinguishable! Do you find that description too far from reality? Can you
easily distinguish the church from the world? Are we not boastful of our carnal accomplishments yet bankrupt of any moral values? Are we not indeed wretched to think that the life of a man can be measured by the abundance of his possessions?

It doesn’t have to stay this way though. Apostle Peter says we can diligently begin to add character to our faith. It is only as we do this that we can begin to truly live out our destiny as a city set upon a hill. Then men will see our light and give glory to God.

May God help us all.

I invite you to follow on twitter @woleolabanji

One thought on “A Crisis of Faith Without Character

  1. Dear Lord, please, increase my Faith. Teach me to live by your Word. Wash me clean body, soul and mind. Help me to know and accept my faults and grant me the spirit of true repentance. Help me to do your Will. let me see your footsteps so that I can plant my own in them. Give the spirit of .Love, Charity and Forgiveness. Open my senses, eyes, ears, nose, brain, heart, tongue etc and make them effective to enable me understand you more perfectly. Anoint me with your Holy Spirit and enable to propagate your Word in Jesus Mighty Name I pray. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

