Sunday-Sunday Daraprim

image

Mark 14:38 (GNT)
And he said to them, “Keep watch, and pray that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

Jude 1:20 (GNT)
But you, my friends, keep on building yourselves up on your most sacred faith. Pray in the power of the Holy Spirit,

Attending boarding school was half part terrific and the other half terrible. All that freedom from parental censure was just teenage heaven but the huge responsibility of looking after myself was closer to hell.

At no point did I long for the reassuring comforts of home more than when I was ill,  which was often. From the minor but exasperating discomfort of scabies, to life threatening illnesses like malaria and typhoid: I longed for the loving touch of my parents when sickness came calling.

Malaria was the more common culprit; brought on by giant mosquitoes that seemed unexplainably vengeful in their unending waves of attacks every night.

During one vacation, alarmed by my tales of cyborg-mosquitoes and frequent bouts wiyh malaria, my mother sent me back the following term with a bagful of the popular malaria prophylactic – Daraprim. For as long as I took the tiny pill every Sunday,  I have no recollection of ever coming down with malaria again till I left secondary school.

In Mark 14:38, Jesus offers us a prophylactic for sin. “Watch and pray” he says so you will not fall when temptation comes.  Many times believers agonize over their weakness in the face of temptation failing to realize that unless we build up our spiritual strength by cultivating a lifestyle of praying (Jude1:20) , we will not be able to fight off temptation.

Watch and pray.

Leave a Reply

