God doesn’t need help

image

Genesis 2:8-9, 15 GNT
Then the Lord God planted a garden in Eden, in the East, and there he put the man he had formed.  He made all kinds of beautiful trees grow there and produce good fruit. In the middle of the garden stood the tree that gives life and the tree that gives knowledge of what is good and what is bad.  Then the Lord God placed the man in the Garden of Eden to cultivate it and guard it.

My 3yr  old son loves to help me get dressed in the morning: I let him help me with threading my belt through the belt holes in my trouser. Now I don’t do this because I need help to get dressed on time and hit the road. In fact it slows me down when he helps me get dressed. I do it for him. I let him help me for the sheer joy and sense of accomplishment that glows on his face when the leather goes through the last hole.

Our heavenly Father does it for the same reason. When God partners with us to do some work, it is not because he needs to be helped out of some tight situation, it is because by allowing us participate, our lives gain meaning and purpose.

From the beginning God has always put mankind in the centre of his plans. He let’s us do the equivalent of threading the belt through the holes. It is work he can do all by himself and even better, but by sharing his work with us, we find joy.

And so we see God planting a garden in Eden and then handing it over to Adam as general manager. It should be obvious to us that the God who called light into being can surely keep the garden by the same spoken word.

What I learn from this is that I must treat every opportunity to work with God as a privilege. Just as my son is filled with joy on those days that I let him help with putting on my belt (even though it slows me down), I ought to be similarly filled with indescribable joy as I have opportunity to work with God.

Leave a Reply

