Actually, Do Sweat The Small Stuff

image

He did this to dedicate the church to God by his word, after making it clean by washing it in water, in order to present the church to himself in all its beauty—pure and faultless, without spot or wrinkle or any other imperfection. Eph 5:26-27 GNT

So I wasn’t paying attention while backing out of the office parking lot yesterday, and I grazed the rear fender on a truck parked next to me. The resulting dent on my fender wasn’t such a big deal but it is quite noticeable.

Thing is, since it happened yesterday, the thought of that slight dent has come up so often in my mind as though the entire car was all banged up. In fact, because the car was actually due to go to the dealership for a service by the end of the week, I have moved it up to take it in today (wednesday) so I can also get the slight body work done.

And as I woke up this morning thinking about it, God spoke through. “Why do you give so much thought to the slight dent in a car that will be obsolete in a few years anyway? You care so much about keeping your car in pristine condition. I wish that you cared half as much about keeping your soul which is eternal in pristine condition”

The message hit home. In fact, I thought it was worth all the trouble of denting the car in order to learn the lesson that, it is very important to sweat the ‘spiritual small stuff’. It is important to agonize over the small character defects in my life as I was agonizing over the small  dent on my car. As scripture says, he is coming for a church without blemish, spot, wrinkle or any such thing.

We however don’t seem to care that much about our shortcomings. In fact while the bible says to lay aside every weight and get rid of the sin that easily trips us up (Heb 12:1), many have rather come to lay on every imaginable weight, and embrace the sin that easily besets. We claim the sin as our own. “It is just my nature. Surely one can be allowed one vice” we argue.

So as I take the car to the dealership this morning, I’m reminded to, with the same urgency, always take every small dent, (blemish, spot, wrinkle) in my character to the Lord who alone can correct me by his word.

The urgency is necessary because we get used to stuff. The reality is, the dent is just slightly noticeable, and one can actually live with it. Similarly, many of our faults can be considered slight, and things we can presumably live with. But we are warned about allowing sin to harden into full blown rebellion if we do not urgently sort them out before the Lord.

But instead warn (admonish, urge, and encourage) one another every day, as long as it is called Today, that none of you may be hardened [into settled rebellion] by the deceitfulness of sin [by the fraudulence, the stratagem, the trickery which the delusive glamor of his sin may play on him]. Heb 3:13 AMP

Do you have a fault in your character? Take it to the Lord today.

2 thoughts on “Actually, Do Sweat The Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

