Don’t Get it Twisted

image

It is easy to get comfortable in the keeping of the rules and rituals of our faith, and to then go on and assume that we are doing well spiritually, but are those rules, and rituals an end in themselves?

For most people, after spending sometime in church, we pick up the looks and the lingo, but quite often we are cursing out folks under our breathe while saying “bless you”.

So Apostle Paul writes to Timothy…

1 Timothy 1:5 AMP
Whereas the object and purpose of our instruction and charge is love, which springs from a pure heart and a good (clear) conscience and sincere (unfeigned) faith.

In essence he was saying, the whole point of the instructions I am sending you is to produce sincere love in you.

This is the main point of our Christian experience, and unless God succeeds in pouring his love into the world through us, our faith is worthless. Our works as well are meaningless without love, however impressive they may appear in the sight of men. For it is said in 1 Cor 13…

I may be able to speak the languages of human beings and even of angels, but if I have no love, my speech is no more than a noisy gong or a clanging bell. [2] I may have the gift of inspired preaching; I may have all knowledge and understand all secrets; I may have all the faith needed to move mountains-but if I have no love, I am nothing. [3] I may give away everything I have, and even give up my body to be burned-but if I have no love, this does me no good.

When asked the definitive question about what the greatest commandment was. Jesus said, “it is to love God and to love our neighbour”.

It is so important to not feel validated by anything else in oir walk with the Lord if we cannot see clearly that the love of God is poured out daily from our hearts.

Don’t get it twisted!

Leave a Reply

